To partition or not to partition?

I’m very new to ZFS, so bear with me as my wording may be incorrect…

I have 3x 6TB drives and 4x 10TB drives that I would like to make full use of under ZFS. Any reason I couldn’t use a layout like below where the 10TB drives are partitioned into a mix of 6TB and 4TB? Once partitioned, could I use all of the 6TB drives and partitions in one RAID-Z2 zdev, with the remaining 4TB partitions in another RAID-Z2 zdev then combine the two zdevs into a single zpool for a combined 38TB?

Is there a more sane way to utilize the full capacity of all seven drives?

The performance will be terrible and it’ll be hard to manage over the long term.

There is no entirely clean way to make use of those drives, but I would probably do a single 3-wide raidz1 on the 6T drives and two 2-wide mirrors on the 4T drives, if I was determined to use them all as is.

With that said: have you got your backup sorted? You need to have backup.

Another option would be three 2-wide mirrors plus one spare. The third 6T drive is the spare.

That gives you 6T+4T+4T == 14T usable, vs the raidz1 plus mirrors from the last post giving you 12T+4T+4T == 20T usable.

So yes, this way is lower capacity, but it’s higher performance, FAR cleaner, and gives you the chance to grow into it with larger drive replacements in small batches as you go.

Can you buy an 8th drive? How write-intensive will this be?

I have 2 mirror vdevs (thus 4x drives); one of the vdevs has mismatched disk sizes and the vdevs themselves are different sizes. It’s sub-optimal but not the end of the world. ZFS keeps them busy enough and the combo outperforms the more OCD-compatible solution of separate 2-drive zpools. All of this would readily saturate a 1Gb or a 2.5Gb network connection.