Meaning of "(non-allocating)" in "zpool status"?

Greetings everyone. I’ve been using ZFS for a few years, but just noticed in the output of zpool status the words (non-allocating). It’s possible the words have always been there and I just never noticed. I am wondering what they mean.

Results online regarding the meaning of this seem to be pretty sparse, aside from a question on Reddit’s r/Openzfs, which didn’t seem to gain a lot of traction:

Question on r/Openzfs

Can anyone shed any light as to the meaning?

I don’t think there’s any sensitive data in the output of this command besides maybe some drive number information, so I will paste it below here (redacted the drive serials/numbers/IDs):

$ sudo zpool status
  pool: zroot
 state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 05:47:02 with 0 errors on Mon Oct 30 05:47:04 2023
config:

NAME                                          STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        zroot                                         ONLINE       0     0     0
          mirror-0                                    ONLINE       0     0     0
            ata-WDC_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx  ONLINE       0     0     0  (non-allocating)
            ata-WDC_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx  ONLINE       0     0     0  (non-allocating)
          mirror-1                                    ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors

And, in case it gives any hints, the output of zpool list -v:

$ sudo zpool list -v
NAME                                           SIZE  ALLOC   FREE  CKPOINT  EXPANDSZ   FRAG    CAP  DEDUP    HEALTH  ALTROOT
zroot                                         7.25T  3.47T  3.78T        -         -    19%    47%  1.00x    ONLINE  -
  mirror-0                                    3.62T  1.74T  1.89T        -         -    19%  47.9%      -    ONLINE
    ata-WDC_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx      -      -      -        -         -      -      -      -    ONLINE