Struggling Newbie with ZFSBootMenu getting network in fresh Ubuntu install

I am extremely new to OpenZFS… well brand new. After recent 2.5 admins show, I decided to give ZFSBootMenu a try as I was migrating home servers anyways and upgrading systems so… I figured it would be a perfect time to start learning OpenZFS. I am not in a technical field by trade… just a home hobbyist that likes sovereignty over my own data. That is just to warn you about the level of technical skill that I actually possess. I followed the procedure for installing Ubuntu via the guide for ZFSBootMenu. At first I was trying 24.04 and everything went fine, except upon reboot I had no network despite same ethernet cable plugged into my computer as before. I know very little about configuring network interfaces so I made a couple of feeble attempts and then decided to start the whole process over again, this time before exiting the chroot, I installed ubuntu-drivers-common and ubuntu-server via apt and rebooted with fingers crossed… same thing.
So then I decide I am an idiot for not just using the version of ubuntu the guide was written for and proceeded to go through the whole process with 22.04 instead and the same steps running through the install twice and still getting no network.
I know there is probably something extremely obvious that I am missing as there are too many unknown unknowns for me (thanks D.Cheney for that term). There seems to be an assumed level of knowledge in the documentation that I simply do not possess. If any of you could be so kind as to nudge me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.

1 Like

My understanding is that 24.04 uses Netplan to manage networks and I have zero experience with that. Perhaps 22.04 does things “the old way” but I don’t have much experience with that either.